Frannie and Tru – Karen Hattrup

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Frannie and Tru – Karen HattrupFrannie and Tru by Karen Hattrup
Published by HarperTeen on May 31, 2016
Genres: Family, Friendship, LGBT, Social & Family Issues
Pages: 320
Format: Kindle
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Perfect for fans of Prep and The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Frannie and Tru is a dazzling YA debut about a transformative summer in the life of a girl whose idol is not what he seems.

Frannie has always idolized her cousin Tru. At seventeen, Tru is charismatic, rich, charming—everything fifteen-year-old Frannie wants to be, and everything she’s not. So when Frannie overhears her parents saying that after a bad coming-out experience Tru will be staying with them in Baltimore for the summer, Frannie is excited and desperate to impress him. But as Frannie gets swept up in Tru’s worldly way of life, she starts to worry that it may all be a mask Tru wears to hide a dark secret. And if Tru isn’t the person Frannie thought he was, what does that mean for the new life she has built with him?

Confronting issues of race, class, and sexuality, Karen Hattrup weaves a powerful coming-of-age story that’s at once timeless and immediate, sharply observed, and recognizable to anyone who has ever loved the idea of a person more than the reality.

lifesuck Frannie and Tru by Karen Hattrup was so much. Like, it’s actually hard to put into words the full depth of this story. A classic coming of age tale narrated by a teen girl, Frannie, who longs to experience the world. She gets that chance when her older cousin Tru comes to stay with the family one summer. Declaring herself his sidekick, she tags along on a journey of self discovery and discovers that the world may not be what she thought, but that it also has much more to offer than she realized.

Frannie and Tru was very rich. Seeing the world through Frannie’s young eyes, the plot took on a richness that I don’t normally see. The daily facets of life took on a fresh sheen and I loved how the focus remained true throughout. Karen Hattrup wrote with a gentleness that is not often seen. She was nuanced and wrote with a very consistent tone. I had a few small issues with the pacing where the story jumped a bit too far, but it did not hamper my enjoyment. The world built was nicely detailed and had many small touches that made it real. The emotions ran high, as any tale told by a teen girl is seen through her emotional filter. I loved most of the characters. Frannie was sweet and gentle, Tru had his issues but really cared deep down. The adults, however, were sadly typical YA awful.

Frannie and Tru made me feel so much during the reading. I really connected with the narrator and loved the journey she took me on. Karen Hattrup crafted a read that I enjoyed cover to cover. This is her debut and I can only see great things in her future. Hattrup is an author to watch and Frannie and Tru is quite a first effort.

Favorite lines – Sitting at my vanity, I confronted my angry, blotchy face in the mirror. Then I found the most melancholy music I could and turned it up high, attempting to reach a whole new state of misery. I thought if I sank low enough, my sadness might achieve a kind of grace.

Biggest cliché – I overheard it, so it must be true.

 Have you read Frannie and Tru, or added it to your TBR?

four-stars
Rating Report
Plot
four-half-stars
Characters
four-stars
Writing
four-half-stars
Pacing
four-stars
Cover
four-stars
Overall: four-stars

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • 2016 Debut Author Challenge
  • 2016 Diverse Books Reading Challenge
  • 2016 New Release Challenge
  • Mount TBR Reading Challenge
  • Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge
  • The Goodreads Challenge

Posted May 27, 2016 by Laura in Reviews / 3 Comments


3 responses to “Frannie and Tru – Karen Hattrup

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge