Fury – Rachel Vincent

Fury – Rachel VincentFury by Rachel Vincent
Published by Mira on October 30, 2018
Genres: Fantasy, Magical Realism, Fiction
Pages: 336
Format: Kindle
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon

Magic, fate and hope collide in the stunning conclusion of New York Times bestselling author Rachel Vincent’s acclaimed Menagerie trilogy…

1986: Rebecca Essig leaves a slumber party early but comes home to a massacre—committed by her own parents. Only one of her siblings has survived. But as the tragic event unfolds, she begins to realize that other than a small army of six-year-olds, she is among very few survivors of a nationwide slaughter.

The Reaping has begun.

Present day: Pregnant and on the run with a small band of compatriots, Delilah Marlow is determined to bring her baby into the world safely and secretly. But she isn’t used to sitting back while others suffer, and she’s desperate to reunite Zyanya, the cheetah shifter, with her brother and children. To find a way for Lenore the siren to see her husband. To find Rommily’s missing Oracle sisters. To unify this adopted family of fellow cryptids she came to love and rely on in captivity.

But Delilah is about to discover that her role in the human versus cryptid war is destined to be much larger—and more dangerous—than she ever could have imagined.

Weaving together past and present in this heartbreaking tale of sacrifice and self-discovery, Fury is the deeply moving finale to a series that readers won’t soon forget.

Well… that was something.

Fury is the third and final book in Rachel Vincent’s Menagerie series (book 1 and book 2). It was heartbreaking and frustrating and amazing all in one. Let’s start with the amazing first shall we. This series was very unique and this book showed it most of all. With multiple timelines, story lines, and narrators, it flowed in a way it shouldn’t have with all of those elements. Now to the frustrating, there were two subplots that never wrapped up. Like not even a two sentence throwaway mention. Argh! And for the first item – heartbreaking. I am super anti-spoiler but to say I cried more than once would be an understatement.

The plot of Spectacle was jam packed, but not in a bad way. Being able to see all of the different narratives helped keep the story moving. The writing of Rachel Vincent was as always, amazing. She is able to build such fully formed characters and worlds in each of her series, that I am always surprised at how different they are. Speaking of characters, Delilah was much more like her portrayal in book one then book two and I was happy to see it. The other returning cast and the majority of the new additions were all fully fleshed out. The pacing was a bit erratic, as it depended on the narrator of each section and some went faster than others. The world was already solidly built in the two previous books and this stayed within it perfectly. The emotions, oh lord the emotions. Fury was a roller coaster of them from start to stop.

Fury by Rachel Vincent was a nearly perfect ending to a fantastic series. The two subplots that weren’t wrapped up will still haunt me, and I never really got the full understanding of the “bad” guys and their reasoning for their actions. Aside from those things, I loved every bit of this book and the series as a whole. Rachel Vincent is one of my favorite authors and I cannot wait to see what she dreams up next. I fully recommend this series to everyone, but you have to start at book one as this is not a standalone.

Favorite lines – I love you. I have always loved you. And when I die, it will be with your name on my lips.

 Have you read Fury, or added it to your TBR?

Rating Report
Overall: four-stars

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,382 other subscribers

Posted December 9, 2018 by Laura in Reviews / 0 Comments