Lost Stars – Lisa Selin Davis

Lost Stars – Lisa Selin Davis

I received this book for free from Edelweiss, Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Lost Stars – Lisa Selin DavisLost Stars by Lisa Selin Davis
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers on October 4, 2016
Genres: Drugs & Alcohol Abuse, Emotions & Feelings, Music, Young Adult
Pages: 288
Format: Kindle, Print
Source: Edelweiss, Publisher
Goodreads
four-stars

Before her older sister, Ginny, died, Carrie was a science nerd, obsessively tracking her beloved Vira comet. But now that Ginny is gone, sixteen-year-old Carrie finds herself within the orbit of Ginny’s friends, a close-knit group of seniors who skip school, obsess over bands (not science), and party hard.
Fed up with Carrie’s behavior, her father enrolls her in a summer work camp at a local state park. Carrie actually likes the days spent in nature. And when she meets Dean, a guy who likes the real Carrie—astrophysics obsessions and all—she starts to get to the heart of who she is and who she wants to be.

Lost Stars by Lisa Selin Davis is the story of a family coping with a devastating loss that may end up tearing the whole family apart. Carrie has turned to partying, her mother took off, her little sister is lost in the shuffle and her father is just angry. Facing the death of oldest daughter Ginny, the family is fractured in many ways. I must admit, that I at first thought that Carrie, our MC, had awful fashion sense but amazing taste in music (The Pixies on vinyl!). Then once I realized that our story was set in the feathered hair, neon clad 1980’s I totally got it.

Davis’ writing was fluid and moving. She was able to take the story of tragedy and make it very real and very heartfelt. The plot was unique and I loved the 80’s setting. The world built was sparse but worked and the pacing was spot on. The emotions ran high and at times they were almost clunky, but then the writer was able to bring it right back to where it needed to be. The characters were well crafted and all had a unique voice. However, Carrie was at times, just awful. The thing is though that the awfulness worked 100% in the story. Again, I credit the author for being able to balance a myriad of people and emotions and make it all cohesive.

Lost Stars is a quick read that stayed with me. I kept going back to certain moments in my mind and replaying them from different angles to see if they changed. The story was very fluid and packed a lot in. Lisa Selin Davis was able to not only bring a story to life, but a time period as well. I really enjoyed her use of music as a medium for thought at times, it really tied all of the pieces together. All in all this was a winner for me and I am interested to see what Davis will bring forth next.


Find it: AmazonBarnes & NobleiBooksGoodreads


 

Praise for LOST STARS

“A moving real-life problem novel…Fans of Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park and Stephen Chbosky’s The Perks of Being a Wallflower will dig this book.”—School Library Journal

“Lost Stars is a novel for anyone who’s every grappled with their own place in the universe.” —PopSugar, Best YA of 2016

“Davis makes the 1980s shine…[and] makes interesting connections between science and teen angst.”—Kirkus Reviews


lisadstoopAbout Lisa:

I’m super crazy excited to have my first YA novel, Lost Stars, come out in October 2016. I also have a novel for grownups called Belly, published by Little, Brown a few years ago. For the last 12 years or so, I’ve paid my rent by writing articles for The New York Times, Time, The Wall Street Journal and a zillion other publications. Before that I worked in film and TV, doing props and other art department jobs, including a four-year stint making props for Nickelodeon’s Blue’s Clues. I live in Brooklyn (but, hey, I moved here before it was cool) with my hubby, two kiddos and our kitty.

 

Website | Twitter |Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads

 

 

 


 

Giveaway Details:

 3 winners will receive a finished copy of LOST STARS, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

9/26/2016- Adventures of a Book Junkie– Interview

9/27/2016- 125Pages– Review

9/28/2016- Tales of the Ravenous Reader– Guest Post

9/29/2016- The Phantom Paragrapher– Review

9/30/2016- Parajunkee– Interview

Week Two:

10/3/2016- Here’s to Happy Endings– Review

10/4/2016- Literary Meanderings– Guest Post

10/5/2016- YA Book Madness– Review

10/6/2016- The Cover Contessa– Interview

10/7/2016- Lady Amber’s Reviews & PR– Review

 

four-stars
Rating Report
Plot
four-stars
Characters
four-stars
Writing
four-stars
Pacing
four-stars
Cover
four-stars
Overall: four-stars

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • 2016 Debut Author Challenge
  • 2016 New Release Challenge
  • Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge
  • The Goodreads Challenge

Posted September 27, 2016 by Laura in Blog Tours, Giveaway, Reviews / 2 Comments


2 responses to “Lost Stars – Lisa Selin Davis

  1. danielle hammelef

    This book sounds really emotional and a great book for me to read with two kids in high school now to get a teen perspective. Love the cover!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge