This Is Where the World Ends – Amy Zhang

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

This Is Where the World Ends – Amy ZhangThis Is Where the World Ends by Amy Zhang
Published by Greenwillow Books on March 22, 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Social Themes, Sexual Abuse, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Emotions & Feelings
Pages: 304
Format: Kindle
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

A heart-wrenching novel about best friends on a collision course with the real world from Amy Zhang, the critically acclaimed Indies Introduce and Indie Next author of Falling into Place.
Janie and Micah, Micah and Janie. That’s how it’s been ever since elementary school, when Janie Vivien moved next door. Janie says Micah is everything she is not. Where Micah is shy, Janie is outgoing. Where Micah loves music, Janie loves art. It’s the perfect friendship—as long as no one finds out about it. But then Janie goes missing and everything Micah thought he knew about his best friend is colored with doubt.
Using a nonlinear writing style and dual narrators, Amy Zhang masterfully reveals the circumstances surrounding Janie’s disappearance in an astonishing second novel that will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver and Jay Asher.

friendsforever I was initially worried about how I would like This Is Where the World Ends as it says in the blurb that it has a nonlinear writing style and dual narrators and that could be very very good, or very very bad. The good news, it was amazing! The way the story flowed through time was masterful and made you really sink into the story. Janie and Micah are BFF’s, who have a deep connection. This connection extends to everything but school, where they keep their friendship secret and make sure to never let anyone else in. Then Janie goes missing and Micah is left to try to figure it out. The future chapters are told from Micah’s perspective and the past from Janie’s. The nonlinear made the story that much more powerful.

As you can guess Amy Zhang crafted a remarkable tale in This Is Where the World Ends. The plot was well though out and intricate. The writing was sharp and intricate. The emotions ran high and I cried more than once during my reading. The characters were perfection and played their parts and off of each other so well. The pacing worked so well, moving back and forth should have been annoying or hard to follow but was not at all. The world building was were I did have a small issue. The characters were so well fleshed out that the world they resided in was secondary and at times the lack of a solid world pulled the interplay down a bit. But other than that issue, perfection.

I always enjoy when a book is so much more than I expected. I thought This Is Where the World Ends would be a light YA read about two best friends that discover they do love each other after all. I am glad I was wrong. This Is Where the World Ends was instead, a tale of true love and loss and what happens when your world gets shaken so hard that it may never recover. Amy Zhang has a unique voice that I truly appreciated and I will add her to my list of must read authors.

Favorite lines – It’s just that—well, we had already drawn lines on our soul and stabbed our little flags into it. We had claimed. Him: music and reality and all the words too shy to be spoken. Me: art and dreams in Technicolor and everything that had ever happened in sunshine and all the secrets exchanged in moonlight. We agreed on all of that before even the dinosaurs stomped around, and he isn’t allowed to change that now.

Biggest cliché – As long as everything goes my way, I’ll be fine.

 Have you read This Is Where the World Ends, or added it to your TBR?

four-half-stars
Rating Report
Plot
four-half-stars
Characters
four-half-stars
Writing
four-half-stars
Pacing
four-half-stars
Cover
four-stars
Overall: four-stars

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • 2016 New Release Challenge
  • Mount TBR Reading Challenge
  • Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge
  • The Goodreads Challenge

Posted March 18, 2016 by Laura in Reviews / 2 Comments


2 responses to “This Is Where the World Ends – Amy Zhang

  1. For some reason, I couldn’t post my first comment bc I’ve already commented? This is what I said though: This sounds… I don’t know. Part of me would be all over this one, but another part of me isn’t so sure. thank you for an insightful review — you’ve given me much to think over!
    Verushka recently posted…#5Books: Book recs you must readMy Profile

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge